The defective fortune cookie …

“May you have a good appetite,” read the fortune cookie I opened.

Lately fortune cookie messages have been less than inspiring, but this one took the prize.

Seriously? I thought.

May I have a good appetite?  For what?  More Chinese food?  So that I can order again and again from this restaurant?

“That’s your good fortune, not mine,” I said to the Chinese take out gods as I tossed the tiny piece of paper into the trash.

And then the wisdom of the Chinese Cookie stopped me in my tracks.Image

I could hear Confucius laughing in the background as he reminded me that appetite is about a lot more than the means to the end of a full stomach.

It’s also a means to satisfying the hunger inside our souls.

Then it was my turn to laugh.

“Hey, Confucius,” I said.  “The hunger of the soul is insatiable.”

“Yet you are willing to risk everything for the chance to try, aren’t you?” Confucius replied.

I had to admit he was right.  A hungry soul will not be denied.  It will never send the message that it’s full until well, nobody really knows.  Perhaps it will take a series of lifetimes.  But that’s the topic for another post.

Scary?  You bet.  But in an exhilarating way.

Fear is of the senses.  It has no part in things of the soul.

So what do we do?

Do we feel the fear and do it anyway?

Or do we ignore the grumbling inside our soul and pat ourselves on the back for “doing the right thing?”

But when we’re on our deathbed, will we celebrate having taken the road less travelled?  Or will we resent having chosen the path of least resistance?

It all begins with hunger.

But being hungry isn’t enough.  You also need a good appetite.  Because it’s then that you are willing to sample all the delicacies that the buffet table of life offers you — the buffet table of people and situations that God sends to satisfy your hunger.

May you have a good appetite …

The irony is that even with a good appetite, the more we try to satisfy the soul’s hunger, the hungrier we get.

That is both blessing and a curse.

To me, it’s the best fortune cookie message ever.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

