Naked in the newsroom

I had a dream the other night that I walked into work completely naked.

There I was in the middle of the WPLG Local 10 newsroom without a stitch of clothing on my body.

I’ve been known to do some pretty out of the ordinary things at work purely for their shock value.  Walking in naked isn’t even remotely on my bucket list of things to do to get someone’s attention.

But there I was on a perfectly normal Tuesday morning, walking around, saying hello to everyone, briefcase and lunchbox in hand, but missing one very crucial item which is mandatory in business and professional situations:  clothes.

This is when things really got weird.

I walked by one of our reporters — no, I’m not going to tell you which one — who carried on a perfectly normal conversation with me without once mentioning that I wasn’t wearing anything.

One by one, I encountered people in the newsroom who didn’t even hint that it might be time to call security.

One offered me baked goods she had made the night before.  Another updated me on the latest breaking news and updates she’d done to the website.

Before long I started to settle in and accept that having no clothes on was apparently perfectly normal.

The armchair analysts among us would say that nakedness is a symbol of vulnerability.  They would tell me that the dream was a result of my being in a very vulnerable state in my life, one which my subconscious is trying to help me decipher and understand.

Whatever.  I’ll buy that.  But what about the people who didn’t notice that Local10.com’s Empress wasn’t wearing any clothes?  Did the entire newsroom suddenly go blind?

Well, the analyst might say, you weren’t wearing clothes, but you weren’t exposing your vulnerability. Being at work meant there is an expectation of normalcy, no matter what emotional turmoil you might be going through.  Your “game face” hid that vulnerability.

In other words, just because you’re not wearing any clothes doesn’t mean you’re naked.

Think about it, the analyst says.

When do you “get naked?” And for whom?

Most people never do, do they?  They go around life playing with safety nets and not being seen. The fear of hurt and deceit is so present, they are on the sidelines.

Finally, the analyst would ask me to consider three questions …

“Did I live fully? Did I give and love well?  Was I naked?”

Friends make the best analysts, don’t they?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

