Another Trip Across The Pond

After months of uncertainty, planned and cancelled itineraries, dozens of travel guidebooks and a gazillion hours spent watching and reading about all things travel-related, my next trip magically planned itself.

I consider myself a somewhat seasoned traveller.   I love to travel as much as I love to stay home. 

I prefer to live my day-to-day life in the cocoon of my home and family.  A perfect weekend for me involves cuddling with my partner and our dog, all-day appetizers, a good bottle of wine and a Tivo filled with stuff to watch.

But when it comes to travel, staying in one place for too long is taboo.  In fact, if I come home from a vacation well rested, it wasn’t a vacation at all.

For the past couple of years, my partner and I haven’t been able to find a destination that has clicked with us.  It’s a big world out there, and we don’t want to waste our precious vacation time going somewhere that’s not going to deposit treasures in our bank of memories.

Last week we found ourselves with two weeks of booked vacation time, enough frequent flier miles to get us both to somewhere and back, and no place to go.

And then it happened.

A week magically freed itself up in a resort near Prague that we’ve been wanting to visit.  Just like that, another week opened up in another resort in Croatia that we’ve had our eye on.

A couple of phone calls later, we were booked at both places.  Delta and its airline partners magically found flights that got us to all our destinations with no hassles or extra charges.  Oh, there was one inconvenience.  We had to spend two nights in Venice in order to make all our connections.  Venice … my favorite city in the world.

Just goes to show you … lo que esta pa ti, nadie te lo quita.  (Rough translation: Whatever is meant to be, will be)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

